Staff & Board

Board of Trustees

MRFD is governed by a five-person elected Board of Trustees who volunteer their service to the community as members of the board. MRFD and our citizens are very fortunate to have an active board that is engaged and continues to support the activities of the organization and provide guiding leadership, policy, and funding oversight that enables the district to carry out our mission. The current five-member board has over 100 years of combined service to the Missoula Rural Fire District.


The MRFD administration consists of two Fire Chiefs, a Resource Manager, a Training Officer, an Accreditation Manager, a Resident/Volunteer Coordinator, two Deputy Fire Marshal’s, an HR/Finance Director, an Office Manager/Accounting Assistant, and an Administrative Assistant. The Fire District Chief and the Assistant Chief of Operations oversee all of the work of the district: from conducting inspections and reviews, to managing internal operations, to coordinating with outside agencies to meet the community’s fire, medical, and emergency needs.



Christopher M. Newman

Fire District Chief

Paul Finlay

Assistant Chief / Operations