Missoula Rural Fire District

The Missoula Rural Fire District is the taxable entity that provides fire and EMS service to portions of Missoula County, Montana. We are located in the west-central corner of the state and are 120 miles southeast of Glacier National Park.  We are a rural area with pockets of development.  Our combination career/volunteer force protects 38,500 permanent residents and an additional 25,500 transient, tourist, and college student population within 98 square miles.

Operating Five Fire Stations

We currently have 52 career firefighter/EMT’s and 24 volunteer firefighters who operate from five fire stations and provide fire and EMS services. We average 2,500+ responses a year and have mutual aid agreements with all of our surrounding communities.  Our mutual aid agreements cover an additional population of 72,925 residents.