About Us

The Missoula Rural Fire District is the taxable entity that provides fire and EMS service to portions of Missoula County, Montana. We are located in the west central corner of the state, and are 120 miles southeast of Glacier National Park.  We are a rural area with pockets of development.  Our combination career/volunteer force protects 38,500 permanent residents and an additional 25,500 transient, tourist, and college student population in 98 square miles.  We currently have 48 career firefighter/EMT’s and 34 volunteer firefighters who operate from 5 fire stations and provide fire and EMS Services. We average 2,200 responses a year, and have mutual aid agreements with all of our surrounding communities.  Our mutual aid agreements cover an additional population of 72,925 residents.